Synopsis – Free as the Wind

Short stories in this book include – Scottish folklore, contemporary stories, escapism, nostalgia, and captivating Scottish scenery, together with a story based around the aftermath of the battle of Culloden

This book is available now


Free as the Wind – Part 1

A short story set around a proposed oil industry development on the Hebridean island of Skye and the magical, mystical opposition to the project from around the Outer Hebrides.

Free as the Wind – Part 2

A follow-on story that includes additional locations in Orkney together with visits to the parliaments in Westminster and Holyrood. It also features Chinese involvement and all again set within a mystical and folklore background.

The Lassa Stories

A series of short stories portraying life and events on a fictitious Hebridean island set in the nineteen sixties: Never on a Sunday / The Stranger / Ship in distress / The Big Match / Iain’s eventful summer.

Lassa 2012

The next generation visits the fictitious island and becomes embroiled in a further adventure set around a renewable energy project.

The Witch of Kintyre

Revenge and romance set around the Kintyre peninsula and also featuring the gloriously scenic islands of Islay and Gigha.

Safe and Sound

A short story about two friends escaping after the battle of Culloden against the background of a family feud. It is set around Ross-shire and Helmsdale in the Sutherland area of Scotland.]

COPYRIGHT: Ian Couper 2019

Please EMAIL me if you have any queries on the above